Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sun, 17 Jul 2022 13:20:12 GMT by Brian Turner
Hi I am a UK resident and recently sold a property in Florida. My understanding is: 1. I do not have to report or pay the CGT within 60 days as it is not a UK property sale and 2. I report on my self-assessment tax return for the year 2022/23 and pay the tax according to that. Are my understandings correct? Many thanks for your help.
Posted Tue, 19 Jul 2022 11:00:07 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Yes you are correct .

Thank you.
Posted Mon, 12 Jun 2023 20:23:25 GMT by
Hi, 1) Which page/link should be used to report CGT for the first time reporting for a property sold abroad please? 2) What is the deadline to report CGT for an abroad property sale happened in March 2023? Many thanks
Posted Thu, 15 Jun 2023 14:15:53 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi ogmir,
You can report using:
Report and pay your Capital Gains Tax
If you want to submit a tax return instead, you have until 31 January 2024 to file the return and pay any tax due.

Posted Wed, 16 Aug 2023 12:36:27 GMT by
Hi, Thank you for your response. Could you please let me know when is the deadline to report for an abroad property sale happened in March 2023 using the link of Report and pay your Capital Gains Tax, not by tax return? (https://www.gov.uk/report-and-pay-your-capital-gains-tax/if-you-have-other-capital-gains-to-report) Many thanks
Posted Fri, 18 Aug 2023 10:08:42 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi ogmir,
March 2023, is in the 22/23 tax year.
Any foreign income or capital gains must be declared in a Self Assessment Tax return.
To avoid late filing penalties and interest charges, a paper tax return must be in HMRC possession, no later than 31 October 2023.
A tax return submitted online, has up to 31 January 2024.
In both cases, payment of the tax must be made by 31 January 2024, to avoid late payment penalties and interest charges.    
Thank you. 
Posted Mon, 21 Aug 2023 21:18:51 GMT by