Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 22 Feb 2022 22:45:39 GMT by turbopodge
I'm a sole trader building musical instrument accessories in the UK. I'd like to take a number of these products to some small-scale trade and consumer shows in the EU, both to exhibit and sell. I notice the carnet option does not permit me to sell products directly, so that's not ideal. However an alternative might be to use the rules for "Commercial goods in your accompanied baggage, also known as Merchandise in Baggage" (quoting the gov website). Now this has a value cap of £1500, which if I went by the retail price to the end user would only allow me to take 10 or so items, which isn't good. However the Simple Online Declaration (see below) specifically asks for the amount I paid for the items and uses this as the declared value. Since I build/manufacture the items myself from components the amount I pay for parts is a fraction of the retail price. Therefore I should be able to take a decent number of items to sell. Is my interpretation of this correct? https://www.gov.uk/guidance/declare-commercial-goods-youre-taking-out-of-great-britain-in-your-accompanied-baggage-or-small-vehicles Another thought: would it be acceptable to import part-assembled products, declaring the component value, then assemble them once in the EU to form a saleable item?
Posted Sun, 27 Feb 2022 12:04:05 GMT by turbopodge
Can someone please let me know how Merchandise in Baggage works. I'm booked for a guitar show in Manheim in September and am considering one in Berlin in March. I want to know if selling products in the EU is feasible after brexit.
Posted Mon, 28 Feb 2022 12:53:04 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Use this service to declare goods (simple):

that have a total value of £1,500 or less
that weigh a total of 1,000 kilograms or less
not subject to excise duty (alcohol, tobacco, fuel)