Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 22 May 2023 21:45:47 GMT by Sam Leung
Hi, I am a UK resident. I have a property in Hong Kong and am receiving monthly rental. The amount of rental of the property is only taxable in Hong Kong. Under Article 6 of the DTA between the UK and Hong Kong, the rental from that property is not required to declared in the self assessment in UK. Is this correct? Thanks. Sam
Posted Thu, 25 May 2023 10:56:27 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi
Thank you for your question.
As per Article 6 of the Hong Kong-UK Double Taxation Agreement, any income received from immovable property in Hong Kong would only be taxable in Hong Kong, however, as a UK resident, I would advise that the amount received must be declared on your Self-Assessment Tax Return SA106 Foreign supplementary page regardless of the amount, even if a loss has been made, unless the amount was less than £1,000 and you are claiming the Property Allowance.
PIM4702 outlines in further detail rent from property outside of the UK found here: PIM4702 - Rent from property outside the UK: Income Tax (IT) - HMRC internal manual - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk). 
Posted Thu, 25 May 2023 11:15:59 GMT by Sam Leung
Hi, Thank you for your reply. I am filling the self assessment return online. Instead of filling SA106 on paper, I have to complete relevant Foreign Section of the online return. Is this correct? Thank you. Sam
Posted Fri, 26 May 2023 11:41:37 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi
Thank you for your question.
You are correct that rental income from a property in Hong Kong should be entered in "Income from land and property abroad" of the foreign section.
Posted Sun, 15 Oct 2023 09:34:42 GMT by Mark Tang