Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 20 Jan 2022 22:32:44 GMT by Iurii
Hello, I invested USD two years ago in a mutual non-reporting fund incorporated in Grand Caiman. At that moment, I was a tax resident of another country. Now I am a UK tax resident, so I am trying to figure out the tax consequences of a disposal of shares of this fund: 1. Am I correct that gain from the disposal of the shares is taxed as income? 2. The gain should be calculated in GBP, so I need to convert a buy/sell price of the shares from USD to GBP and calculate it using GBP amounts. Could I use monthly exchange rates from https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/hmrc-exchange-rates-for-2021-monthly for a corresponding buy/sell date? If not, where could I find the right ones? 3. My broker has a buy/sell fee. Could I deduct these fees from the gain? 4. How should I declare the gain? How should I calculate a tax to be paid? 5. If the gain in GBP is negative, should I declare it? Could you please help me to find the answers? Thank you very much.
Posted Fri, 21 Jan 2022 14:18:19 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Yury,

On disposal of an interest in a non-reporting fund, UK reident will be subject to tax on any gains arising as if those gains were income - that is, on the ‘offshore income gain’

IFM12300 - Offshore Funds: introduction: non-reporting funds

You can use the monthly exchange rates or the annual for the year, it is your choice. Guidance on allowable capital gains deductions can be fond here:

CG15150P - Capital Gains manual: introduction and computation: computation: expenditure: contents

If there is a loss then you would still declare this.

Thank you. 
Posted Sat, 22 Jan 2022 22:28:51 GMT by Iurii