Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 01 Mar 2021 12:36:22 GMT by
Hi, I am a resident of UK (ILR) with an Indian Passport and I pay tax in the UK. My father, who resides in India wants to gift me some cash (around £20000) from his Indian bank account to help us financially for my wife's medical treatment. If I get that money transferred in one go do I need to declare it or need to pay tax? Further, Does my father need to declare somewhere that it is a gift from him? Finally , it is possible for him to gift me cash over 3-4 transfers within a year? Thanks
Posted Wed, 03 Mar 2021 15:30:58 GMT by HMRC Admin 18
Hi,

There are no income tax implications when you receive a cash gift, cash gifts from Uk resident, overseas relative or from a friend.

You may need to check with your bank and here is a link re. inheritance tax and Gifts:

Inheritance Tax

Thank you.
Posted Sun, 09 Jan 2022 18:09:13 GMT by ilaminucci
Hi, I am an Italian national living in London since 2016. I am an employee and pay taxes in the UK. My parents send me between £8,000 and £10,000 annually to my English bank account to help me pay the rent / living costs. Do I need to declare and pay taxes on such amounts? Many thanks
Posted Tue, 11 Jan 2022 13:31:08 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi ilaminucci

This transfer of money would not be subject to tax for income tax purposes.

However, if it generates any interest in a bank then this would be reportable. 

Thankyou.

Regards.
Posted Mon, 07 Feb 2022 14:16:48 GMT by
Hi I live in the UK since 2019 and I'm planning to buy a house. My family wants to send me around £50000 to help me with the purchase. Do I need to pay tax if I use that money to buy a house? Thanks
Posted Mon, 07 Feb 2022 15:43:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

There are no income tax implications on the transfer of the money but if this generates any interest at all in a bank account
then this would be reportable for income tax purposes.