Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 28 Jul 2023 11:34:18 GMT by
I am out of the country and have only just been told I have received a tax calculation refund cheque but that it is out of date. I tried to phone but after 30 minutes the line announced it could not take my call. I would like to reclaim my money but it is proving impossibly difficult to contact HM revenue and customs and writing from the Philippines isn’t a viable option. The phone call cost a fortune too. Please could you help so I can get a new cheque?
Posted Thu, 03 Aug 2023 15:49:40 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi Danguiney78,

We can not access your record from this forum, the only ways to contact the Income Tax department are shown here:
 Income Tax: general enquiries

Thank you.
Posted Mon, 07 Aug 2023 12:23:38 GMT by
Hi, I am an EU resident and I have received my tax refund for tax year 21/22 on a cheque although they had my bank account number in the UK. Because I can't cash in the cheque I would like to get the refund on my brittish bank account. What is your advice for me? Because of the high prices I can't call the HMRC services. Thank you in advance
Posted Fri, 11 Aug 2023 06:25:11 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi XYZ17 Jonasson,
If the Tax refund was from the Income Tax Team we won't be able to issue this as a bank transfer now.
You will need to find a way to cash the cheque or write to us to nominate someone to receive a replacement who can cash a cheque.
Thank you 

Posted Sat, 12 Aug 2023 19:10:42 GMT by
hi i am owed a tax refund for overpayment on my PAYE. i submitted my bank details 7 days ago and every time i log back in to check on the progress after 48 hours i have to go through the whole process again. do you think my repayment is being processed?
Posted Wed, 16 Aug 2023 12:24:30 GMT by HMRC Admin 20 Response
Hi derek moran,