Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 05 Apr 2023 07:23:26 GMT by
Kind reminder, any help with the below? I would like to apply for a letter of confirmation of residence for tax purposes to submit in my country of origin. Can you advise how I can apply? I have already created account in the gov gateway but I am not given the option to submit an application. Can you tell how I can apply? Thank you
Posted Thu, 13 Apr 2023 10:42:14 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

You can see guidance here:

How to apply for a certificate of residence to claim tax relief abroad

Thank you.
Posted Fri, 14 Apr 2023 16:54:42 GMT by
Hi. I need some help please. Having recently relocated from the UK to Portugal, the Portuguese tax authorities are asking me for a UK “Letter of confirmation of Residence” to confirm that I was a UK tax resident during the last 5 years. To avoid confusion, I do NOT require a “Certificate of Residence”, which is apparently a different document. How can apply for such a “Letter of Confirmation of Residence”, as both email application form and gateway application form only refer to “Certificate of Residence” applications. Any assistance would be grately appreciated, thank you.
Posted Wed, 19 Apr 2023 16:17:37 GMT by HMRC Admin 18
Hi,

Please see guidance at:

If you do not have any foreign income, it will be a Letter of Confirmation that will be issued to you.

Thank you.
Posted Fri, 12 May 2023 09:07:02 GMT by
Hello, Following up on my post of 28 days ago, I completed the "Certificate of Residence" form via the HMRC gateway. On the same day I received a an acknowledgment email from HMRC with a reference number stating that I will receive a response within 15 days. It has almost been 3 weeks now and I still have not received a response. Could you please advise what I need to do to progress my request? Many thanks
Posted Thu, 18 May 2023 17:12:14 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi