Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 07 Mar 2023 14:49:42 GMT by
Good afternoon, I am a non-resident, but UK domiciled individual. I am a self employed consultant working as a sole trader but do some of my consulting work for a UK company and am present in the UK for this (approx 20% of my time). The rest of my time and work is carried out overseas. Am I liable for UK income tax only on the portion of my income earned in the UK or on all of my income? Thanks.
Posted Thu, 09 Mar 2023 07:17:27 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi CasCas10 10,

Please see guidance here: 

Tax on your UK income if you live abroad

Thank you. 
Posted Tue, 04 Jul 2023 13:41:00 GMT by
Hello HMRC Admin 25 I am in a similar position, and the link you provided doesn't provide much clarity for self-employed individuals. I am a self-employed non UK resident, with a UK based client. What tax do I need to pay on this income? Thanks!
Posted Tue, 11 Jul 2023 10:03:22 GMT by HMRC Admin 32
Hi,

As a non UK resident, your self employment, albeit for a UK client, would be declared in the country you are resident.

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 21 Sep 2023 16:45:04 GMT by
Good evening, I wish to register as a non resident sole trader for work in the UK. I need a tax number but cunsultants note thae I first need a NI number that I can't get if non resident. I will need the tax number for Amazon and for whwn I move over in 6-12 months. Thanks
Posted Tue, 26 Sep 2023 12:42:35 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Please refer to :

Apply for a National Insurance number  .

You dont need the NINO to apply for self assessment - :

Register for Self Assessment   .

Thank you.
Posted Mon, 16 Oct 2023 17:53:51 GMT by