Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 10 May 2021 12:32:12 GMT by michael moyle
I am a uk resident in full-time employment with a UK multi-national. I would like to work remotely from Italy for up to 6 months of the year. I will keep my existing permanent UK address and will be paid by my UK employer into my UK account as I am currently. Are there any tax and NI insurance contribution considerations for either my employer or me if I am working remotely for part of the year? My current understanding is if the duration of remote working is less that 50% of the time then there are no additional tax or NI considerations for my employer or myself. i,e, my employer will just deduct from my salary as they do today. Thanks for your help
Posted Wed, 12 May 2021 14:08:16 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

It will depend on whether you are still classed as a UK resident or not. If you are, then your worldwide income will be taxed as normal in the UK. Please see guidance here to determine you residency status in the first instance:
RDR3 Statutory Residence Test

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 13 May 2021 05:35:46 GMT by michael moyle
Many thanks, yes I will still be classified as a uk resident
Posted Thu, 13 May 2021 09:02:52 GMT by Clarebiz Francis
Hi there. I am a UK resident, but I have been living in Ireland since the pandemic. I have set up an Irish bank account to which I have received some transfers from overseas from friends and family who have been helping to support me. Are there any tax implications with this setup?
Posted Tue, 18 May 2021 09:18:44 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi Clarebiz Francis,

If you are not UK tax resident then there will be no UK tax implications. You may wish to speak to the Irish authorities regarding their tax rules. 

Thank you.
Posted Fri, 25 Jun 2021 09:17:08 GMT by David T