Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 06 Dec 2021 15:18:17 GMT by Europefantasie
I am a resident in UK. May I know if the referral bonus I gained for referring my friends to join an bank account is taxable in UK or not? If yes, shall I report it under other UK income section? And if the date I signed the referral form is 30/3/2021 but the bonus fee was paid by the bank on 12/5/2022. So shall I report the tax under 2020/2021 or 2021/2021? Thanks.
Posted Mon, 06 Dec 2021 16:19:03 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi

If this is a bonus from your employer then this would remain taxable.

If this is a reward or cashback from a bank etc then please see guidance here as to whether this would be subject to tax or not.

Savings and Investment Manual

Thankyou.

Regards.
Posted Mon, 06 Dec 2021 18:32:12 GMT by Europefantasie
Thank you for the link. I have read through it but I cannot get the answers. May I know the answers to my questions? It is rewards from bank for referring a friend to join their bank account. 1. Are these amounts taxable? 2. If yes, shall I report it under other UK income? 3. When are they taxable? The date I signed the referral form or when the money is received to my bank account? Thank you.
Posted Thu, 09 Dec 2021 13:51:21 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi Europefantasie

If the 4 conditions outlined in the guidance do not apply then this will not need to be declared.

If this is a one off payment then it would not consitute an annual payment and would therefore not need to be reported.

Thank you.
Posted Sun, 06 Nov 2022 19:33:46 GMT by Eva