Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 11 Apr 2023 01:59:56 GMT by
Hi, I am a UK non resident for tax purposes and have not resided in the country for a few years now. I am also a Director at my UK limited company, and draw a salary and dividends every year, which I report via SA102. I have started another job at a foreign company, and I am now receiving my income from that in a UK bank account which is denominated in Euro. I would like to understand the following: 1) I am aware that as a non resident I do not need to pay tax on non UK derived income. But do I need to report it to HMRC in my next SA102? 2) If I do not need to report it, is there any risk that my account is "flagged" by HMRC, triggering an investigation, since I am a non resident but receive undeclared foreign income in a UK bank account? 3) What are the tests used to determine if income is UK derived or not? Thank you for your help.
Posted Tue, 18 Apr 2023 13:12:45 GMT by HMRC Admin 19
Hi,

You can see guidance here:

Paying tax on the remittance basis (Self Assessment helpsheet HS264)

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 18 Apr 2023 13:22:14 GMT by