Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 14 Sep 2021 09:15:35 GMT by Fenrir Strife
Hello, I am a freelancer who is planning to immigrate to the UK. I have 2 questions about self assessment: 1. Is it possible if I just fill out the self assessment tax return form without setting up as a sole trader or a limited company? 2. Is it necessary for me to contribute to the NI? If yes, which type of NI should I pay for and what are the steps? Thank you very much for your help! I look forward to your reply.
Posted Tue, 14 Sep 2021 10:56:57 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

If you are a UK resident sole trader then you would need to register for this.

You can do this here :

Set up as a sole trader      .

This will also register you for class 2 and class 4 NI which will be collected through your self assessment.

See link:

National Insurance   .

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 14 Sep 2021 11:40:50 GMT by Fenrir Strife
Thanks for your reply. I’m not self-employed (i.e. I don’t own a company). I simply do project-based jobs. That means I don’t have to register as a sole trader, right? And I just need to pay for class 2 and class 4 NI on yearly basis through my self-assessment?
Posted Tue, 14 Sep 2021 15:20:15 GMT by Fenrir Strife
What if I am employed under an overseas company instead of being a freelancer? Should I also fill out the self-assessment form and pay for NI on yearly basis? Thank you! Looking forward to your clarifications.
Posted Wed, 15 Sep 2021 15:21:43 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi

To pay class 2 and class 4, as this is self emplyed income, you would need to register as a sole trader.

Thankyou.

Regards.
Posted Wed, 15 Sep 2021 15:24:55 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi

Yes you would then need to complete a self assessment return for foreign income but you you would not need to register as a sole trader and no NI would be charged.

If you wanted to pay NI you could set up a DPNI scheme.

Guidance can be found here: