Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 26 Apr 2023 15:19:45 GMT by
Hi Trying to work out if a lump sum I received, being the named beneficiary of a deceased non uk tax resident, foreign life insurance (I'm a UK tax resident), is taxable as income in the UK? The gain/taxable amount was declared to French tax authorities by the French life insurance company at the time of payout, but not taxed as under taxable threshold and due to when payments were made into life insurance. Does the same gain needs to be declared to the UK tax authorities? and then will be taxed in the UK? if so, this gain will have been declared in each country (as paid when applicable by french life insurance company directly) wouldn't this be double taxation? Thank you
Posted Sun, 14 May 2023 12:16:55 GMT by Moira S.
Hello Tax20, Literally in the same position as you. Have you found an answer to your question yet ? If so, could you share it with me please. Thanks.
Posted Mon, 15 May 2023 18:09:45 GMT by