Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 30 Jul 2022 06:04:48 GMT by daytrader
I am a day trader using an overseas offshore investment account to make profit. In year 2021 to 2022, I made GBP 158,641.97 profit total. Only 53,298.55 was remitted to UK. The rest of the amount is still keeping overseas. From my understanding, I can use remittance basis. Only the remitted income will be charged tax and the unremitted income will not be charged any tax. Is my understanding correct? Furthermore, can you also please tell me which form should be filled in and submitted? SA100 and SA109? do I need to submit SA106? Your replies will be highly appreciated. Thank you.
Posted Mon, 01 Aug 2022 13:24:55 GMT by HMRC Admin 2
Hi,

The remittance basis is an alternative tax treatment available to individuals who are resident but not domiciled in the UK and have foreign income and gains.

Remittance basis is not available if you are deemed domicile in the UK.

You can find further information and details of how to submit a claim here:

Remittance basis 2021 (HS264)

Thank you.
Posted Sat, 13 Aug 2022 10:47:11 GMT by daytrader
Hi, I have checked that i am a non domicile UK resident. I think i am able to claim Remittance basis. As i mentioned, I have remitted GBP 53,298.55 to UK in year 2021 to 2022. While i am filling the form SA109, i find that there is a box 34 "amount of income you are nominating". Can I simply put the remitted amount GBP 53,298.55 in that box as the nominated income? Your reply will be highly appreciated. Thank you very much.
Posted Tue, 16 Aug 2022 08:52:46 GMT by HMRC Admin 2
Hi,

You can find guidance here:

Residence, remittance basis etc (Self Assessment SA109)