Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 25 Aug 2021 18:45:43 GMT by Caroline
Hi, I need clarification about a detail. I know that I need to fill in a Self Assessment tax return since I am a new UK resident with foreign income/capital gains. I know that I need to notify HMRC about my foreign bank accounts. My questions: 1. Do I report my foreign bank accounts at the same time when I submit my self assessment tax return? 2. Does "reporting foreign bank accounts" mean reporting my capital gains or does it mean giving the list of my bank accounts no matter that there are capital gains or not linked to them? 3. What is the deadline to report my foreign bank accounts to HMRC considering the fact that I arrived in the UK in July 2021? Thank you.
Posted Thu, 26 Aug 2021 13:16:56 GMT by HMRC Admin 8
 Hello,
You only need to notify HMRC about foreign income such as foreign capital gains, interest gained in foreign accounts etc.
You do not need to list the bank accounts that they are form.
The income itself will be declared on the self assessment return.
You need to register for self assessment no later than the 5th october following the year in which the income arose.
So in your case if the income is for the 21/22 year then you have until 5th October 22 to notify us.
Further guidance on this can be found here:
Self Assessment tax returns
Tax on foreign income
Thankyou
Posted Mon, 02 May 2022 16:04:15 GMT by Caroline