Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 27 Jul 2022 14:35:15 GMT by dmarenh
I am a freelancer/sole trader resident in the UK. During the tax year 21/22 I invoiced a German company for work I did whilst in the UK (I didn't travel to do the work). The company paid the German sales tax at the time. I understand that the money I reiceived is income taxable here in the UK, however, I am unsure whether I need to answer the following question on the tax return with 'YES' or 'NO': 'If you received any foreign income, do you need to complete the foreign section?' Please could you clarify? Many thanks!
Posted Thu, 28 Jul 2022 14:52:46 GMT by HMRC Admin 20
Hi dmarenh,

You would include this within your self employment income. 
If German income tax has been deducted you will also include it in the foreign page in order to claim foreign tax credit relief.

Thank you.
Posted Thu, 28 Jul 2022 18:56:32 GMT by dmarenh
Thank you for the swift response, it's much appreciated. So I understand that I should answer the above question with 'NO.' German income tax was not deducted in my case.
Posted Thu, 28 Jul 2022 20:38:46 GMT by Lost InGlobe
Hi HMRC Admin20, I have two related additional questions if you and the OP don't mind 1- What if a person works in a free tax salary country, which has a DTA with the UK, can he still claim foreign tax credit relief although his money was not taxed in his host country? 2- To declare salary income during a (split) tax year and in order to account for the first 5 days of April, should " the monthly salary *5/30" be included in the foreign income total? Cheers.
Posted Fri, 29 Jul 2022 11:38:04 GMT by Lost InGlobe
Another question, in converting the income from foreign currency to British pound, should the yearly or the monthly average be used? Cheers
Posted Mon, 01 Aug 2022 10:33:48 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

You can use either  .

Thank you.