Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 14 Jun 2022 01:53:06 GMT by alp
I left the UK permanently in 2007 (only spent around 10 days total in UK after this date), I am British citizen born in the UK if that makes a difference. I own a property in the UK which I used to live in until 2007 but was then let through an agent, I am approved for the non residents landlord scheme so my agent does not deduct tax. I have completed a tax return every year online. A few years ago on this forum I asked was it ok to keep using a UK correspondence address on my tax return (my parents), I was told it was ok and the address did not matter (I can't seem to find this old forum post to copy it). When I do my tax return online I always added a comment in 'other information' that I was Living in Thailand since 2007 and stating I am a non resident landlord and providing my registration number NAXXXXX Now I have been considering selling my property and looking into CGT, as a non resident I only have to pay CGT on the gain from 5 April 2015 (rebasing). But while looking into this I have read I may have had to submit form SA109 with my tax return which I have not done, my return has always been online with a UK address. Now I am worried this now may affect being able to to rebase the property valuation for CGT? Is there a way to correct this to make sure I am non resident for CGT, or is the fact I am registered as a non resident landlord enough? Thanks
Posted Tue, 14 Jun 2022 10:41:55 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

If you are non resident you should alsways complete SA109, the fact we hold a UK address for correspndance
has no affect on your income tax liability. 

Please see the guidance for non residents selling a UK property / capital gains :

Tell HMRC about Capital Gains Tax on UK property or land if you’re non-resident   .

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 14 Jun 2022 11:57:19 GMT by alp