Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 09:04:44 GMT by bruno
Hi, I've been working in the UK for the last 8 years, obviously all my taxation is done here. I'm Portuguese but have been granted settled status. Due to this whole pandemic situation, I now have to temporarily (not sure how long), go back to Portugal for family reasons. But I'll still have to work remotely while I'm there, for my company which is UK based. All my taxes are still going to be payed in the UK, all my income is still received in the UK and I still hold my residence in the UK. My main issue here is that I'm going to go this month, but not really sure when I'll be back, could be one month... could be more. I'm trying to understand what I need to do. Should I contact the HMRC? Will there be any change in my tax situation?
Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 13:57:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 3

Hi,
Whether there will be a change in your tax situation will depend upon your UK residency status during the 2020/21 tax year.
This is something which we cannot comment on until the full circumstances are known.
You can in the meantime find out information regarding residency rules here:
RDR3 Statutory Residence Test

Posted Mon, 11 May 2020 16:22:06 GMT by bruno
Hi, thank you for your reply, additionally how can I let the HMRC know how long I will be working from abroad? all the best
Posted Tue, 12 May 2020 06:48:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 3
Hi, 
Once you come back to the UK you will then work out your residence status for the year.
If it turns out you are non-resident then you my want to complete a P85 form.
Otherwise if you are classed as resident then no action would be needed unless you needed.
Posted Tue, 12 May 2020 11:32:31 GMT by bruno
thanks
Posted Thu, 14 May 2020 12:11:00 GMT by HMRC Admin 4
Hi,

No. She will only need to register here if she is tax resident here and needs to declare the income to us.