Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• capital gain in self assessment as non-UK resident but with UK account

Dear HMRC, I lived abroad since 2014 and currently I am still a non-UK resident. But I still use my UK trading account to buy funds, stocks and futures. However I didn’t make gain from those trading. Should I report those gains and losses in Self-Assessment each year? I understand that I don’t pay Capital Gains unless I return to the UK within 5 years of leaving. Therefore I understand that I don’t need to do the self-assessment. Is there a penalty if my understanding is wrong and I am supposed to do the self-assessment? If I need to do the self-assessment, can I calculate all the gains and losses since 2014 in this current year’s self-assessment?
  • Query on Tax Split Year Treatment

I couldn’t understand the tax split-year treatment. https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/residence-domicile-and-remittance-basis/rdrm12170 RDRM12170 - Residence: The SRT: Split year treatment: Case 5: Starting full-time work in the UK I am a British citizen. I moved abroad 5 years ago to work full time. Every year I visited the UK for between 30 days to 60 days for holidays. My family lives in the UK. I have my own rented home abroad. Now I plan to move back to the UK to take a full-time employment in September. In this case, I will spend over around 200 days in the UK in this financial year 2022-2023. Am I entitled to the tax split-year treatment? For my wages abroad in this financial year, do I need to pay UK income tax after I move back to the UK? If I delay my return to the UK in November, I will spend 150 days in the UK during this financial year. Will I still pay UK income tax on my UK wages as I will spend less than 183 days? I will be on PAYE payroll in the UK after I come back to the UK.
  • do I need to pay UK income tax on my oversea income while I am working full time abroad