Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• Dividend received from foreign listed tock

Hi, I received dividend form foreign listed stock traded in foreign stock exchange. And the total amount is less than £2,000. I filled in Dividends section of self assessment form, under section "Foreign dividends (up to £2,000)", and also "Tax taken off foreign dividends". After filling all other items, in the Calculation page, I can see those dividend in the section "Dividends from foreign companies" and seems I need to pay tax on it. As far as I know, I do not need to pay tax for Dividend within £2,000. Is that some wrong? I am referring to Tax on Dividend here: https://www.gov.uk/tax-on-dividends Thanks, 
  • Foreign tax paid on self-employment

Hi, I am UK tax resident. And I am a contractor work for foreign company. For my understanding, I also need to pay tax on that country, and can roughly calculated the tax amount. And would like to claim foreign tax credit relief. I am filling the self assessment form. Since I am not sure the exact amount of tax will be paid at this moment. How can I fill the amount in "Foreign tax paid" under section "Foreign tax paid on employment, self-employment and partnership"? Thanks
  • RE: Captial Gain Tax on stock trading loss

Hi,
    Thanks for the reply. One more thing is. One of the investment account is joint account with my partner. So for the gain or loss in this account, is that both of us should report half of gain or loss in capital gain tax section in self assessment tax return?
    Thanks

• Captial Gain Tax on stock trading loss