Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• Self Assessment submission

Hello, I was a UK Tax Resident from 2010 -> September 2021. I completed a UK self assessment tax return online for the last few tax years. I moved to New Zealand in September 2021 and now reside here permanently. I am going to complete my 2021/2022 UK tax return as instructed - the question I have is whether I am able to do this online via my HMRC account OR do I have to post the forms to the UK/use a tax professional with applicable software? I have received conflicting information - I spoke with a Self Assessment advisor over the phone last year who said I can complete the forms online as normal, however I have just logged in to this system and am met with a notification advising that non UK residents need to submit the assessment using another method i.e post or using applicable accounting software. Please advise. Thanks
  • RE: Former employer incorrect FPS submission

The former employer has withheld the tax already, which is fine and is not the problem here. The issue is they have not reported this correctly to HMRC (they say they sent it and are blaming HMRC) so it will not match what I submit as part of my self assessment. So I ask again: If I submit the correct details as part of my self assessment and attach the payslips to show the tax has been withheld will that be sufficient? Will HMRC expect me to repay tax or will they chase my former employer to investigate the incorrect reporting?
  • Former employer incorrect FPS submission