Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• National contributions already paid abroad before moving to UK

I moved to the UK in August 2020, and as I was tax resident in Italy for 2020 I had to declare my worldwide income and pay all national contributions for the entire year (including the part where I was already living in the UK, from Aug to Dec 2020). Now on my self assessment for UK 2020/2021 I need to also pay national insurance here in the UK on the same 5 months, apparently. Is there a way to claim relief from UK if I paid contributions in Italy already for the period August-December 2020, although I was already living in the UK?
  • RE: Trading allowance vs expenses

You said "if you claim trading allowance, your gross profit would be reduced by £100". Why only £100? Did you mean "by £1.000"?
  • Trading allowance vs expenses

I'm a self-employed freelance translator and that's where all my income comes from. I was about to use the simplified expenses to claim some expenses for rent and utilities for working from home (approx £200/£300), however I then saw "trading income allowance" of £1000 in self assessment. My understanding is that if I claim this trading allowance, then I cannot claim expenses. Is there a reason why I shouldn't claim the £1000 trading allowance and instead claim only £200 or £300 expenses?
  • RE: Split year, double taxation, move to the UK during tax year