Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 10 Aug 2023 12:07:52 GMT by
I am selling a house in France that I have owned for 23 years. As required by French authorities, I have appointed a Tax Advisor who has asked for a standard letter from HMRC to confirm that I am a UK resident and that I continue to be liable to the UK for social security purposes and no other Member State's social security legislation applies to him/her during this period. Can HMRC help me obtain this letter? Many thanks
Posted Wed, 16 Aug 2023 06:46:27 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Alan Wells,
You will need to request a certificate of residence here:
How to apply for a certificate of residence to claim tax relief abroad
If you have not yet sold the property, we will issue a letter of confirmation of residence and if you have sold the property, we will issue a certificate of residence.
The same form is used for both.
Thank you. 
Posted Thu, 17 Aug 2023 12:47:58 GMT by
Thank you very much for this information
Posted Tue, 16 Apr 2024 11:01:37 GMT by gt71027
Dear HMRC, Could you advise on the link to gain the document which the French authorities require when selling a holiday home regarding NI (Social Security) proof for the UK. Portable Document A1 Thanks in advance, Gary
Posted Tue, 23 Apr 2024 10:53:46 GMT by HMRC Admin 32 Response
Hi,

It is a certificate of residence you apply for and specify that it is for a french property.

How to apply for a certificate of residence to claim tax relief abroad

Thank you.
Posted Sat, 03 Aug 2024 07:47:05 GMT by Ceebee1001