Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 27 Oct 2023 15:26:50 GMT by
I am a UK resident selling my Australiam property I bought in 2010. My Oz Accountant has calculated my CGT payment which is due as non resident of Australia for tax purposes. I complete an Nnausl tax return in UK and Australia, and I have dual residency . Please could you kindly advise if I need to pay more tax when I transfer ,$to £ to transfer to my UK bank account? Fyi this was my main residence from 2010 to 11/2013, when I rented the property out and worked remotely in Darwin, then returned home to UK in 8/2015 to care for my Father where I reside now. I currently work in the UK and pay tax? Please advise on Double Taxation rulings, and if I need to pay any taxes, if do how much and what steps do I need to the now, as going thru sales process? If I am charged I may have to reconsider rerenting until I retire in a couple of yrs then return to Australia to live to avoid paying such high CGT...please advise at your earliest convenience. Many thanks
Posted Tue, 31 Oct 2023 17:14:42 GMT by HMRC Admin 10 Response
Hi
Before we respond to your question, please clarify what you mean by 'an Nnausl tax return' (which you say you complete in UK and Australia).
Posted Tue, 31 Oct 2023 22:50:49 GMT by