Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 07 Aug 2023 16:51:51 GMT by lbwagner
Good afternoon HMRC team, Can you please help answering the following 3 questions. I live in the UK since 1999 but moved back and forth between UK and EU for work purposes (changing jobs) a number of times. From HMRC perspective I am a UK resident because I was unaware about the UK Non—Domicile options, hence in the previous years I never selected “non—domicile” in my self-assessment. Even if I was living and working in the EU – and not in the UK, I filed UK self-assessments (as I did self-assessment in the EU). I always planned to return to EU and leave the UK but never indicated this on my SA (e.g. domiciled outside of the UK). Now I realised I need to amend my 2021—2022 SA because I sold my EU property in February 2022 and a month later I bought another property in the EU. Now the foreign Capital Gains for 2021-2022 need to be reported, thus an amendment is needed. I would like to amend my 2021-2022 assessment as Non-Dom UK tax resident with remittance basis. From self assessment point of view and HMRC perspective I always been categorised as a UK-Tax resident, I did not claim otherwise. I always created and submitted my self-assessment. If I am checking the last 20 years prior to tax year 2021-2022, I spent 4+4 years as “Non-UK tax resident” (based on the number of days spent in the UK and UK ties) and the remaining 12 as “UK-Tax resident”. Based on my calculations, I do not break the 15 out of 20, 12 out of 14 or 7 out of 9 years rule. 1. Question 1: can I claim in 2021-2022 amendment the Non—dom status with remittance basis although I did not claim it in the previous years before? 2. Question 2: if I do claim Non-dom status for 2021—2022, how do I do it, do I have to amend 2021—2022 and all previous 20 years tax returns (because I did not marked these years in my self-assesments submitted)? 3. Question 3: should my Non—dom s