Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 26 Aug 2023 10:52:28 GMT by
Dear HMRC Administrators, I am writing to seek your advice regarding your recent letter stating that "your circumstances mean you need to complete a tax return" for the year 2021-22. I have been a UK resident for the past 10 years; however, my domicile is in Japan. Given that I did not receive any significant dividends or interests during this period, the only matter of relevance might be the property in Japan, which I inherited in 2015 and subsequently sold in 2021 following the passing of my mother, who had been residing in the property. Referring to the UK-Japan Tax Treaty Article 13, which states that "Gains derived by a resident of a Contracting State from the alienation of immovable property referred to in Article 6 of this Convention and situated in the other Contracting State may be taxed in that other Contracting State," I assumed my obligation to report and pay taxes to Japan. I sought advice from a Tax accountant, who thought that this would only be chargeable in Japan. Accordingly, I made the tax payment in 2022 under their guidance. However, after reading some posts and considering the HMRC letter mentioned earlier, I am now uncertain whether I might also be obligated to report this to HMRC. This has led me to the following questions: **Question 1:** Am I required to report the income associated with this property sale to HMRC, despite the UK-Japan Tax Treaty Article 13? If so, could you please clarify which forms I need to submit? Would it be the SA100, SA108, and SA106 forms? **Question 2:** Based on a rough calculation of the tax I may owe in 2021-22 using the calculator provided at https://www.tax.service.gov.uk/calculate-your-capital-gains/resident/properties/, I have found that the tax I paid to Japan was approximately £3,000 more than the UK-based estimation. Does this imply that I have overpaid my taxes? **Question 3:*