Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 25 Nov 2023 14:18:14 GMT by
Hello I am a UK resident and have dual citizenship with Australia. I'm about to settle on selling a property in Australia next month. I'm also due to complete my self assessment form for Apr 22/23 FY by January 2024. I have a few questions if you could help me out. 1) Should I include the sale of the property in the self assessment form due January 2024? Or would it have to be following self assessment year, given settlement of the sale is December 2023? 2) Also if I didn't want to wait until the following year to include in my self assessment form, could I fill in this form anytime after the sale has completed? https://www.gov.uk/report-and-pay-your-capital-gains-tax/if-you-have-other-capital-gains-to-report 3) As I don't pay Australian CGT until the end of their financial year which takes place in June 2024. Therefore there is a possibility I would be paying the FULL CGT in the UK (when filling in the CGT portal), and then in Australia (July 2024). Would I then be able to claim the double treaty tax credit in retrospect after? Alternatively, if I paid CGT in the UK in full, would Australia give honor the tax credit their end? 4) What is the timelines typically of when tax credits are paid back as I'm hoping to buy a property in the UK with those funds/credit. Thanks.
Posted Wed, 29 Nov 2023 09:16:59 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Joe Romeo,
As a UK resident, disposing of an overseas property, you are required to report the disposal in a Self Assessment tax return.
The date of completion of the disposal, is used to determine the tax year it is reported in.
 If the completion date is on or after 6 April 2023 to 5 April 2024, it would be declared in your 2023 to 2024 tax return after 6 April 2024.
 You would need to convert all the figures to pounds sterling, to include on your tax return.