Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Mon, 19 Jun 2023 12:13:44 GMT by
Hello, I've been working from home as a web developer for 14 years and although have always pondered renting an office could never justify the cost when considering what I could get and including additional car parking and travelling expenses. Typical office environments are also less appealing to me than my home office. But separation between home and work life has become increasingly important in recent years. An opportunity has come up recently locally where there is a static caravan on a site with a holiday licence. It is only 10 minutes from my home, has free parking and is in a tranquil setting. Site fees are around £4k per year. Site rules state it is private use only, we are not allowed to rent the caravan out. Therefore, there are no other considerations, such as me operating it additionally as a rental. After some accountancy advice I believe it's possible to offset some costs on a proportionate basis. However, genuinely my proportion would be split 70/30 (working 5 days per week there and potentially 2 used as pleasure on the weekend, although not every weekend). Understandably, I'm told: "70% is likely to be considered excessive for a site that can be used for both business and personal. A Caravan by its nature goes to suggest that personal use is the primary intention and business is secondary. Therefore to allocate a higher % to business use may be objected by HMRC as being incorrect. If you can satisfy the HMRC on its objection then you may use the 70% as you proposed." This makes a lot of sense, although my motivations are genuine and if HMRC objects I would make the following points in my response: 1. My nature of work does not require typical business premises as I'm working from a computer. 2. The static caravan, which is minutes from my home it not a holiday destination for me. 3. It is ironically cheaper then renting o