Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 23 Aug 2024 11:48:39 GMT by gw01
Hi HMRC team, Hope you are well. I am a UK resident under a working visa and I own a property in my sole name. This property is currently being let and I have been receiving rental income alongside my salary which in total exceeds the high tax rate band. My parents also own a UK property (50:50 share) and this property is not being let and receive no rental income. My parents are not UK residents and they live abroad. I am aware under TSEM9520 (https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/trusts-settlements-and-estates-manual/tsem9520), I can transfer the beneficiary interest (i.e. rental income) to the intended person with a written declaration as an express trust. I have completed a declaration of trust detailing the desired share of beneficiary interests between me (the owner) and my mother (the intended beneficiary). I am also in the process of registering a trust for this declaration. However, given that my mother owns a UK property but she is not a UK resident, I would like to confirm here that the procedure I have been following is correct. Please let me know if the above is permitted by HMRC. I appreciate your comments and guidance very much. Kind Regards Gloria
Posted Mon, 02 Sep 2024 09:44:17 GMT by HMRC Admin 17 Response

Hi ,

Thank you for your question.

I have looked at the guidance held in the Trusts, Settlements and Estates Manual and particularly at TSEM9520.

Based on the content of your question, I cannot see a reason why you should not proceed with your proposal.

As the intended beneficiary is not a UK resident, they will still be liable to pay UK tax on any rental income.

They can register under the Non-Resident Landlords Scheme.

Further information is available at:

What the Non-resident Landlords Scheme is  . 

Thank you .
Posted Mon, 02 Sep 2024 10:00:02 GMT by gw01