Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 31 Mar 2022 18:42:05 GMT by
Hi. I an in discussion with my prospective UK employer to for me to permanently work from Abroad (India) on UK payroll. I am an Indian Tax resident and will not be visiting UK anytime. I have never worked in UK before and hence I dont have any UK address or National Insurance number. Wanted to check how can my employer run payroll without deducting tax or NI - I read somewhere that we can request for a NT tax code, however regarding National Insurance there is no clarity as I have never visited UK and will not be visiting or working out of UK for my prospective employer anytime soon. Any help in this regard is appreciated.
Posted Mon, 04 Apr 2022 14:07:27 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Given the circumstances you have outlined, please complete form P85 to enable HMRC to decide if an NT tax code is appropriate.

As regards the NIC position, please refer to the guidance below: 

Employees working abroad  and :

Get your Income Tax right if you're leaving the UK     .             

Thank you.                      
Posted Tue, 05 Apr 2022 04:09:35 GMT by
Hello - thank you for the note. However to clarify - I have never lived in UK and don't plan to come to UK - I will be a permanent remote worker directly joining a UK company from India. I don't have a UK address or a NI number, Form P85 is asking for NI number. Also form P85 says to fill this form only if I have lived or worked in UK - in my case both are not valid as I have not lived or worked in UK. I am not an UK employee going abroad - I will be an UK employee directly hired in India and will work in India (will never be a UK resident). Is P85 still required?
Posted Wed, 06 Apr 2022 15:03:06 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi

2021 to 2022: Employer further guide to PAYE and National Insurance contributions