Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 26 Mar 2024 21:51:34 GMT by Jack Tam
I would like to selfemploy at Uber eats as a food delivery driver, I have a few questions about tax This is some of my background information: I am a uni student that has never worked before, i have no other income. (maybe just a little bit of interest from fixed deposits) This is by no meals a full time job, maybe around 2 hours a week, might fluctuate a lot My parents are uk nationals so Im also a uk national with uk national passport (so i dont have any restrictions on working in uk) But im born outside of uk and only came back to uk for university (so my parents are paying international fee) i didnt get a student loan so i dont have to pay anything for student finance So for my earnings, Up to how much tax free? 12750 per year? Where do I register to pay tax? If under 12750 income do i have to register at all? I have to register before when? When do i pay tax? Is it once a year? Do i have to pay national insurance? If yes, how? I see that i can deduct expenses. Is the 45p 1 mile fixed? Miles: Does it include coming back to city center after youve delivered to a house outside of the city? Do I have to keep receipts of every expense? Is Photos ok? Or is original copy needed? How do i pay tax? By card? On a website? Thank you!!🙏🙏
Posted Thu, 28 Mar 2024 15:48:37 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi matthew hui.
Please refer to guidance here:
Set up as self-employed (a 'sole trader'): step by step
Thank you. 
Posted Fri, 05 Apr 2024 12:27:40 GMT by Jack Tam
When registering for a tax account, I came across this question, if in my case, am I purely self employed or "You're a partner in a business partnership"? Thank you
Posted Fri, 05 Apr 2024 12:29:40 GMT by Jack Tam