Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Tue, 30 Jan 2024 13:51:53 GMT by
For 2022-2023 I have foreign income for which I will use the remittance basis taxation. I am a UK tax resident but not domiciled and already get taxed through my employer for my UK salary income. I do not need to complete a self assessment form for any other reason than the foreign income. I intended to complete my self assessment online and do not have any of the exclusions listed that would require me to file a paper form so did not request a paper form. However, when I reached the foreign income portion it said that remittance basis can't use the online self assessment service - it was not in the exclusion criteria when I decided to file online and it is now too late to request the paper forms. What am I to do in this case? Can I fill in the self assessment form SA100 online and then send SA109 separately by post? To what address would I send this? When I choose the remittance basis I lose my personal allowance and as such need to pay taxes on that and am ready to pay that immediately but don't know how to do that if I am not able to file online. I do not want to delay this and get penalties. I am reluctant to use commercial software due to a recent data security breach at a pension holder that has impacted me negatively. I am unable to reach HMRC by phone as due to the high volume the call just gets hung up after a few minutes and I am asked to call back but calling back results in the same situation. I am also suffering with health issues and desperate for help.
Posted Thu, 01 Feb 2024 14:26:23 GMT by HMRC Admin 2
Hi,