Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 28 Jul 2023 14:10:41 GMT by
Hello All, I have been a resident of UK from Dec 2009, a British citizen, also have non domicile status in UK. Prior to coming to UK, I was working in Australia from 2007 - 2009 & contributed to Australia Superannuation fund, I paid appropriate tax while contributing to the fund and when I left Australia in 2009, I had contributed around approx. 11000 Australia dollars. My fund was managed by a superannuation company & it has grown now (in last 13 years) to around 16000 Australian dollars. Currently my fund is with the company & gets reinvested every year. As I have moved out of Australia, I was exploring options to take out this money & was wondering about its tax implications. I just want to understand the following - If I take out the fund at once (i.e., Lum sum payment), what would be my tax implication in UK? a. Would I need to pay any tax in UK? b. Would I need to pay any UK tax for all of 16000 Australian Dollars? c. Would I need to pay any UK tax only on growth (i.e., for 6000 Australian Dollars) d. If I need to pay any UK tax only on Growth, As I have accused the growth over 12 years, will this be taxed in one financial year or can this be broken down under any specific rule? e. Finally, I won’t be remitting this amount to UK as I intend to gift this to my mother, will this be beneficial in terms of any tax benefit? Please do suggest if there is any other tax efficient way to take out my Australian Superannuation fund or is there any other dual tax benefit which I can explore, such that I can act accordingly.
Posted Fri, 04 Aug 2023 07:32:39 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi nakshar,
The double taxation agreement between the UK and Australia does not allow relief for 'trivial commutation lump sums' (taking out the whole fund as one payment).
This means that you will pay tax on the pension in Australia, if you take the whole amount out.