Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 25 Jan 2024 21:15:32 GMT by
Dear HMRC, I am trying to figure out my tax obligations and am confused how the Slovenia-UK double taxation treaty applies. 1) If I am employed in the UK by a UK company, is my salary only taxable by the UK? 2) If I receive interest from a UK bank, does only the UK tax this? Thank you very much! Some miscellaneous information that might be useful: -I am a UK Tax resident according to UK law. -I am a Slovene tax resident according to Slovene Law. -I live and spend the vast majority of time in the UK.
Posted Tue, 30 Jan 2024 11:19:46 GMT by HMRC Admin 19 Response
Hi,

If you are tax resident in the UK and employed by a UK employer, you are taxable on your employment income in the UK.

If you are tax resident in the UK and receive UK bank interest, then this is taxable in the UK.

As you are dual tax resident, you may find you have to pay taxes in both countries. As the UK is your main place of residence, then the UK has the first rights to tax your sources of UK income. Slovenia may also claim the right to tax them. Article 14 of the double taxation agreement confirms that you are taxable in the UK, however, if you undertake any of that work while in Slovenia, you are taxable on that work in Slovenia.  

UNITED KINGDOM / Slovenia DOUBLE TAXATION CONVENTION

Article 23 of the DTA allows you to claim a tax credit in Slovenis against tax paid in the UK.

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 26 Mar 2024 09:32:14 GMT by Anthony Chambers