Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 03 Apr 2024 21:29:55 GMT by Elaine Yip
Hi, I immigrated from Hong Kong to the UK with a BNO visa, I landed the UK in mid July 2023 and have lived in the rented house since then, so I am a UK tax resident for tax year 23/24. Please kindly reply my following questions: 1) I have worked for a freelance job in HK since April 2023 and continue the work in UK till now. Do I declare the income of Apr to July 2023 to HK and Aug 2023 to Mar 2024 to UK? 2) Referring to question 1 above, if it’s a split year, how much personal tax allowance I will have? £12570 or pro rata ? 3) I sold some stocks in HK in June 2023 before I landed UK, are the dividend and capital gain taxable to UK for they fall in the tax year 23/24? 4) I sold my home property in July 2023 before I landed UK, I lived in the property for 91 days in the tax year 23/24, so am I correct that I don’t have to pay capital gains tax to the UK? 5) I have mutual funds in bank account in Hong Kong, is it correct that I don’t have to declare capital gain until I sell the mutual funds and realize the gain? 6) I transfer my savings from bank account in HK to UK for my living regularly, I understand that it is tax free to transfer my previous saving to UK but is there any time limit to be eligible for tax free? 7) Is the interest generated from my previous savings in HK subject to UK tax? Thank you so much for your attention and I look forward to hearing from you.
Posted Mon, 15 Apr 2024 09:51:45 GMT by HMRC Admin 32 Response
Hi,

You will need to look at the guidance on split year treatment. If it applies, you only mention your income from 6 April to the date you arrived as a freehand note. If split year treatment does not apply, you need to declare your foreign income from 6 April and claim a tax credit for foreign tax paid.