Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 25 Jan 2024 16:36:56 GMT by
Hi, I am a UK tax resident and I'd appreciate some help. I operate as a sole trader running a digital marketing services business. The majority of my clients are registered outside of the UK. My biggest client is based in Switzerland, but many of my gambling clients are based in countries such as Malta, Denmark, France, Sweden and Estonia. I invoice them and they pay directly into my UK bank account. My overall yearly turnover is expected to slightly exceed £85,000, but the vast majority will come from B2B dealings with companies outside of the UK. It's my understanding that this income is outside the scope of VAT and won't contribute to the £85,000 threshold, so I won't need to register for VAT. Is that correct? As far as I'm aware, no tax has been paid on the foreign income, so I can't declare it in a SA106 form and claim a tax credit. [Unless I'm mistaken?] My main question is how do I declare my turnover accurately in my self assessment?  When filling out my self assessment, do I still select 'YES' to the question 'Is your turnover above £85,000'? If so, will this automatically be flagged in the system to indicate I should register for VAT?  Where on the self assessment form do I then explain that the majority of the income is from outside the UK, so I don't need to register for VAT?  If I select NO, then how do I fill out the self assessment form to accurately input my turnover so it totals over £85,000?  I would appreciate any help with this. Thanks in advance.
Posted Tue, 30 Jan 2024 09:34:18 GMT by HMRC Admin 8
Hi,
Completing a self assessment tax return does not trigger VAT registrations.  
This is something you have to do separately from self assessment.  The foreign self employment income is added to your gross self employment turnover in SA104F.