Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 06 Dec 2023 18:19:05 GMT by cmuk
Hi, I just moved to UK and arrived in early 2023. I believe I am a Non-UK tax resident in the year ended 5 April 2023. Although I am not a UK tax resident in the tax year of 22/23, I do not intend to use remittance basis in this tax year. I have foreign business income (sole trader), foreign property income, foreign salary income and interest income. I may have UK income as well. Before 31 Oct 2023, I have informed HMRC that I need to complete a return and I intend to complete the return online. Please advise which return I should complete for my case, i.e. non-UK resident and not use remittance basis? Thank you.
Posted Thu, 07 Dec 2023 16:47:45 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi cmuk,
Non-residents only pay tax on their UK income, they do not pay UK tax on their foreign income.
You will therefore need to tailor your tax return at section 3 to state which type of UK income you have.
Please note, as non resident, you cannot file online using HMRC software as you need to complete the residence page to confirm this.
You will need to buy 3rd party software:
Self Assessment commercial software suppliers
Thank you. 
Posted Sat, 09 Dec 2023 18:41:47 GMT by cmuk