Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 21 Sep 2023 10:58:10 GMT by
I am from Hong Kong. I am a non-UK resident with £4000 interest income from the UK bank saving account in the tax year 2022/2023. This is my only income in UK and there is no tax to be deducted from interest income in my country. Do I need to file the self assessment for this £4000 income? If the answer is “Yes”, then which documents I have to submit? Thank you very much for your help.
Posted Tue, 26 Sep 2023 10:52:12 GMT by HMRC Admin 17

Hi,

Yes you will need to declare this income and as no personal allowances are due, you will be liable to tax.

You need to complete the self assessment tax return SA100 and also the residence section SA109.

You cannot file online unless you use 3rd party software .

Thank you.
Posted Tue, 26 Sep 2023 16:39:19 GMT by
Hi HMRC, I am the similar situation with Teresa2243. I am a non-UK resident with interest income from the UK bank saving account in the tax year 2022/2023. This is my only UK income. I can't apply for split year treatment since this is only available for UK residents. However, SAIM1170 advises if I am not a resident in the UK, then UK bank interest and dividends interest are considered 'disregarded income'. Do I need to report these interest income arising in the UK? Thank you.
Posted Tue, 26 Sep 2023 21:37:03 GMT by