Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 31 Jan 2024 22:08:52 GMT by
Hi, I am a UK tax resident and have been living in UK for the past 10+ years. Before coming to UK, I had purchased a flat back in 2007 in India, with my wife and me both being joint owners of the flat, and lived there with my family for about 4+ years. I then got an opportunity to come to UK for work and I migrated with my family here. I had purchased the the flat in around 40,000 GBP and spent additional around 7000 GBP in enhancements to the property (kitchen extension, building loft etc). We are planning to sell the flat in next month or so at the price of around 107,000 GBP. My questions are as follows: 1. Given I lived with my family in that flat for 4+ years, do I get any Private Residence Relief while calculating final "gain" amount on which CGT will be applicable? 2. Can I include the expenses I incurred in enhancing the flat (as stated above) as "allowed expenses" while calculating the gain? 3. We will be paying around 23% tax on the sale transaction in India as per Indian taxation law. Does that mean that effectively I will have to pay the additional 5% (28% - 23%, given both my wife and me come under higher tax band) as CGT here in UK, owing to double taxation treaty between UK and India? 4. And if the 23% tax paid in India amounts to a greater figure than 28% tax in UK (mainly because the definition of allowed expenses varies between India and UK), then effectively I will not need to pay anything extra in UK towards CGT given I have already paid enough in India in tax? 5. Even if based on the above calculation, if no additional CGT is applicable in UK, I must still show the Indian figures in my self-assessment? 6. There is every likelihood that the entire sale transaction may span over the months of March / April and we may receive payments in instalments such that some amount comes to us in say March and some in April / May (w