Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 11 Jul 2024 18:59:13 GMT by mailgvuk1
Hi, I used to live in Switzerland and have recently moved to the UK. While in Switzerland, I invested internationally through Interactive Brokers LLC (US based stock broker), purchasing US-based stocks. However all UK/Europe based USD cash holdings are maintained with the UK entity of Interactive Brokers internally. Now that I am a tax resident in the UK, I seek clarification on whether my cash holdings or capital gains from selling stocks in this account are considered remitted to the UK. Specifically, I would like to know if the remittance occurs only when I move the funds from the Interactive Brokers account to a UK-based bank, or if the mere holding or transacting within this account constitutes remittance. To provide additional context: I do not purchase UK resident stocks with this account. All transactions happen outside the UK, and the stocks are purchased on foreign exchanges. I do not believe a remittance has taken place with these stock purchases since all transactions are conducted outside the UK. I would appreciate confirmation of this understanding to complete my self-assessment accurately. Thank you for your assistance. Kind regards, [Your Name]
Posted Wed, 17 Jul 2024 07:36:01 GMT by HMRC Admin 25 Response
Hi mailgvuk1,
Income and Capital Gains Tax are charged in the UK, using the arising basis.
As a UK tax resident, by default, you are taxable on your world-wide income / capital gains using the arising basis, regardless of whether you remit the income or gains to the UK or not.
Even if all transactions ocurr outside the UK on foreign exchanges, the gains are taxable in the UK and should be declared on a Self Assesment tax return.
If you are UK resident but not UK domiciled, then you have the opportunity to use the remittance basis instead.
Please have a look at the guidance here: