Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 22 Dec 2023 10:22:47 GMT by
It's my first year completing an SA, after doing a lot of reading i thought i was prepared... i guess not. I have a single employer with all earnings (apart from £398 interest) via PAYE. My earnings from employer were £105,094.10 with £29,441.60 tax deducted, according to my 22-23 P60. But after adding these details into SA i am asked to pay an additional £2,999.80 which i cannot figure out and any assistance would be greatly appreciated! Given i earn almost soley via PAYE i thought it was going be mostly accurate.
Posted Wed, 03 Jan 2024 10:47:49 GMT by HMRC Admin 21
Hi J,
As your income is over £100,000 you are not due full personal allowances.  See guidance at Income Tax rates and Personal Allowances. If you received the full personal allowance in your tax code then this would cause an underpayment of tax. As this would not come to £2999.80 then we would need to review the calculation for the difference. If you submit the Self Assessment and allow 3 working days to process to HMRC records and then contact us we can check the calculation. Self Assessment: general enquiries.
Thank you.
Posted Wed, 03 Jan 2024 15:01:35 GMT by
Hi, sorry to reply on this thread. New here and cannot figure out how to post new thread here. I have similar issue with income less than £50k per annum. Single employer all earnings via PAYE. I noticed after adding my rental income in Self assessment form, income tax is again calculated on my employment income too. This cannot be right. Please help.
Posted Sat, 06 Jan 2024 15:45:44 GMT by maxb