Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Thu, 18 Apr 2024 17:59:19 GMT by PJS
Hello, I have been preparing the cash-basis sole trader accounts for a niece for 6 years. Straightforward so far. She intends to form a partnership with effect from April 24/25 tax year. A seamless change using same company name, invoicing system, business bank account. Cash Basis continuing. My problem: In preparing the final 23/24 Sole Trader accounts, I found that in the last few days of the tax year, she had received income of £7k via a web-based ticketing office for an event planned for May 24 to be run by the new Partnership. No expenses for this event have been incurred. Under Accrual Accounting, these receipts would clearly be held on balance sheet as Deferred Income to be matched with the expenses arising in 2024. Under Cash Basis rules, as I understand it, these receipts should be reported as income and profit in the 23/24 tax year. This £7k income will materially distort the income (+14%) and net profit (+33%) for the year. Furthermore, the first year partnership accounts in 24/25 will show a loss for this event because the income has already been reported. Taxation will also be an issue because the Sole Trader will be taxed on the revenue in January 25 and the partnership will receive the tax refund in January 26. BIM70066 discusses transition adjustments for Cash Basis but I can find nothing similar to my problem. Is it acceptable as a Transition Adjustment from Sole Trader to Partnership not to report these receipts in the 23/24 sole trader accounts but to include them instead in the 24/24 Partnership Accounts where they belong? Thank you
Posted Thu, 25 Apr 2024 13:43:56 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi PJS,
 As you are not changing from Cash Basis to Accruals Basis the Transitional rules and guidance referred too would not apply.