Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 19 Jan 2024 08:12:50 GMT by
I am a non-UK resident British citizen living in Austria. I am employed in Austria. I rent a property in the UK. The income is below the UK personal allowance threshold. There is a double taxation agreement between the UK and Austria. Am I entitled to claim a personal allowance in both the UK and Austria? If not, my income from property should be added to my income above the personal allowance threshold in Austria and either taxed in Austria or UK. Can I choose to not claim the UK personal allowance and pay the tax in the UK?
Posted Mon, 22 Jan 2024 14:40:52 GMT by HMRC Admin 10
Hi