Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 09 Feb 2024 14:30:56 GMT by
I'm a full time UK resident. My elderly mother is a full time resident of Canada but has retained bank accounts in Hong Kong where she used to work. We've been advised to open a joint bank account in Hong Kong so if she's incapacitated and unable to operate the account herself, I can do so on her behalf and apply the funds to her upkeep. My mother will fund the new account: all capital and income will be entirely hers i.e. I'll have no beneficial interest in her lifetime, only a right of survivorship. The only scenario in which I'm likely to move money from the joint account to the UK is to reimburse out of pocket expense I incur on my mother's behalf. 1. I understand that without a declaration of trust, HMRC will treat me as receiving 50% of any interest earned on the joint account (whether such interest actually comes into my hands or not) and this must be declared by me as overseas income on SA106. A) I'm retired and HMRC has confirmed I don't need to submit a self assessment form SA100. So how should I submit the SA106? Will I need to submit an SA100 anyway? B) Can I use my annual personal allowance to reduce tax payable on the foreign income? C) Are any other deductions or exemptions available? 2. If we wish to make a declaration of trust,: A) Does it need to be a formal deed of trust, signed by both parties and witnessed or will a signed and witnessed letter suffice for HMRC? Is there an approved form? B) How and when should the declaration be submitted to HMRC? C) If the declaration makes provision for the reimbursement of legitimate expenses, will that satisfy HMRC tht such payments aren't income in my hands? Would I need to produce proof e.g. invoices and receipts? Thank you.
Posted Wed, 14 Feb 2024 09:10:59 GMT by HMRC Admin 21
Hi SassNorth11,