Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 17 Feb 2024 22:04:04 GMT by
I am a UK tax resident and one of the beneficiaries (25%) of an overseas property. The property is currently held by an administrator of estate, who is my mom, who is not a UK resident. Q1) Do I need to report 25% of the rental income to HMRC? Q2) The administrator of estate has paid taxes for the property concerned overseas, can I claim tax relief on the rental income I report to HMRC? Q3) I did not "actually" receive the money (move the rental income to the UK) and left it to my mom overseas to support her living, do I need to report it to HMRC?
Posted Tue, 20 Feb 2024 11:46:01 GMT by HMRC Admin 8
Hi,
Firstly, it would be necessary to know your residence status in previous tax year as the income form property (that we would usually handle/tax) will be your share only but this may be affected by your residence status also known as remittance basis.
If tax is suffered overseas then we need to also know the country involved to review the Double taxation agreement and who has charge of this income source.
Yes, please report the details to HMRC but please also provide the above details.  
Thank you.
Posted Wed, 21 Feb 2024 00:04:22 GMT by