Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Sat, 05 Aug 2023 06:11:47 GMT by Corinna Lenz
I am a self employed freelancer residing in Sweden (VAT registered in Sweden) supplying services (such as translations) over the internet to a business that is established and VAT registered in the UK. As far as I understand, the reverse charge mechanism applies to the services I provide to the company. Is there any obligation to register for VAT in the UK? Thank you.
Posted Mon, 07 Aug 2023 10:39:08 GMT by Jason Croke
Place of supply of services rules did not change post brexit. Your customer is a UK business , therefore place of your supply is where the customer is, customer accounts for VAT under reverse charge in the UK, you (in Sweden) make an outside the scope of VAT supply on your Swedish return (no VAT to declare in Sweden and with no requirement to register for VAT in the UK.
Posted Thu, 10 Aug 2023 08:03:29 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Corinna Lenz,
Please refer to section 5 of this guidance.
You do not need to account for the VAT your customer in the UK will account for it under the reverse charge mechanism:
5. Reverse charge
Thank you. 

Posted Thu, 10 Aug 2023 08:28:13 GMT by Corinna Lenz
Hi, Thanks for your reply and for confirming that reverse charge applies. Could you please also confirm that since reverse charge applies, I do NOT need to register for VAT in the UK? Thanks!
Posted Wed, 16 Aug 2023 05:44:24 GMT by HMRC Admin 25
Hi Corinna Lenz,
You should refer to the following link but you will only be required to register for UK VAT if your taxable supplies in the UK exceed the registration threshold.
Who should register for VAT (VAT Notice 700/1)
Thank you. 

Posted Sat, 18 Nov 2023 22:28:27 GMT by