Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Fri, 02 Aug 2024 08:58:41 GMT by Jay Cooke
I'm a tax agent. Have submitted four VAT registrations recently for companies, all have had VAT numbers issued but in the name of the person (treated as a sole trader), not the company. I can't change the legal status via the online gateway, the VAT number has been incorrectly issued by HMRC because the applications were made as companies, not as sole traders. HMRC has an obligation to correct their errors. HMRC know of this technical issue. How do I change the VAT status from sole trader to corporate/company? I can't send a VAT484 as HMRC no longer accepting them, and I can't amend via gateway as it only lets me change trading name. I've emailed vrs.newregistrations@hmrc.gov.uk and btc.changeoflegalentity@hmrc.gov.uk and vatchangeofcircs@hmrc.gov.uk and not had a reply from any of these, it has been more than two weeks and none of the clients can import goods because the VAT number/EORI is in the wrong name. Can you advise on which team to contact to get these errors corrected? Thank you.
Posted Mon, 05 Aug 2024 15:36:24 GMT by HMRC Admin 10 Response
Hi.
I'm sorry that this has happened to 4 of your clients.
Please call our Helpline on 03002003700 and we can submit an urgent referal over to our change of legal entity team to resolve this.
Posted Tue, 06 Aug 2024 09:59:14 GMT by Jay Cooke
Thanks HMRC Admin 10, have contacted helpline and actioned.

Feedback .
Posted Wed, 14 Aug 2024 09:11:56 GMT by Jay Cooke