Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Tax implications on dividends while temporary non-resident

Again, I am just looking for a simple answer: ignore anything about rental income or any interest, etc - my question is purely about the dividends. If I take dividends this year and I am a non-tax resident for the whole of 23/25, will I be due any tax either this year or in the following tax years? - https://www.gov.uk/hmrc-internal-manuals/residence-domicile-and-remittance-basis/rdrm12700 It's this bit of advice that is confusing me and makes me believe that the dividends I take this year will not be due any UK tax as the dividends are from a close company and are taken based on monthly profits (post departure profits)
  • RE: Tax implications on dividends while temporary non-resident

Ok, so there is no split-year treatment for 23/24. What would this mean for my tax liability for the dividends taken in the 24/25 year? Would this mean that my rental income would be taxed as normal but that dividends would be disregarded income and non-taxable?
  • Tax implications on dividends while temporary non-resident