Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Do I need to declare held foreign assets?

Hi, Thank you very much, but unfortunately this link doesn't seem to answer my question, sorry about that! I was asking if as I am a British citizen if the UK/HMRC needs informed of foreign assets I hold, but have not sold yet, e.g. if I have to inform the UK/HMRC that I have US stock provided by my employer or that I have a foreign bank account with foreign currency. From my understanding I do not have to, unless a taxable event happens, such as capital gains or interest generation (and only if I was a UK resident at the time of the taxable event). However, is there a need to inform the UK/HMRC of these held/owned assets? And if so, what is the process to do so?
  • RE: Do I need to declare held foreign assets?

Just a small ping to ask for a reply to my above question if at all possible!
  • Do I need to declare held foreign assets?