Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

• RE: Need self assessment if have 5000 pounds bank interest?

I would like to add something here which I forgot about and which I hope HMRC Admin can answer. In addition to the information I included in my original question, I do have an investment in the Isle of Man, which I forgot to mention. In the 2023-2024 tax year I made a 6% loss on this investment when I cashed it in so there was no capital gains. This year, however, I will make a 6% gain on a new investment in the Isle of Man using the same capital cash. Taking into account that I am a non UK tax resident do I need to submit a self assessment for 2023-2024 or next year for 2024-25 based on these 'foreign earnings'. The quiz on whether I need to submit a self assessment now says I will need to submit one due to the 'foreign earnings' component but I am a foreign tax resident for the UK and I think the quiz applies to UK tax residents. I hope this is clear and thanks for any responses.
  • RE: Need self assessment if have 5000 pounds bank interest?

To respond to the second reply for which I give thanks. I am resident in a country that does not tax global assets and only taxes imported earnings although does have a double taxation agreement with the UK.

Feedback to reply.  
  • Need self assessment if have 5000 pounds bank interest?